General Discussion Community for All
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Freelancing: A beginner's guide

+2
belle
Dazzler
6 posters

Go down

Freelancing: A beginner's guide Empty Freelancing: A beginner's guide

Post by Dazzler Thu Jun 10, 2010 10:31 pm

Freelancing has become more popular nowadays because of the people's wish to earn more from home. Some want to be their own boss and some just wants a flexible schedule. If you're looking for a part time work, this is a great and flexible way to make more money. If you are considering of looking for a career online though, this may or may not the one for you. It's no easy job to be working online because you give up many advantages of working from the office. I have been a freelancer for a year and lucky enough to have found great employers and exciting projects. However, not all have the same experience. Others don't get paid at all because the employer doesn't like the quality of labor. Some others get paid in a very cheap rate. It's always a risk to be working from home so before you join the rest of the freelance providers, consider the downside and upside of this new approach to making money.

CONS:

1.) No contract. Working online is not a stable job. You can get fired easily because you don't have a contract with your employer. You cannot complain either so the security of your work is not assured. Most of the work available work are project based so when the project is completed, you're out of job again.

2.) Benefits. You don't have any. There are no vacation, sick, or maternity leave for mothers. Holiday pay or holiday leave isn't applicable too. You either work per hour or per project and that's all you get.

3.) Health Insurance. You don't get one either since you work online. So if you are sickly or you cannot live without this, you either have to get one for yourself or you forget about freelancing.